V.A. - Extreme Women In The Dark Future (2008)

V.A. - Extreme Women In
The Dark Future (2008)

Genre: Dark Electro
Style: Dark Electro, Industrial, Gothic, EBM,
Label: machineKunt rec.
Rachel Haywire has made a name for herself in the modern underground with her unorthodox approach to harsh electro and industrial music, emphasizing the power and independence of female artists in the scene. To further her mission objectives, she founded machineKUNT Records with the intention of providing a home for female noise, electronic, and industrial musicians and to encourage women the world over to create electronic music. As the second release for the label, Extreme Women in the Dark Future lives up to its name as a collection of today's harshest female and female-fronted industrial acts.

As with any decent-to-good compilation, Extreme Women in the Dark Future presents a vast array of acts from across the board, some with a few releases under their belt to the newer upstarts looking to slash their own sickly sweet gash in the scene. Of the established acts, Expreriment Haywire is perhaps the best example of the label's and the compilation's fury; a thumping EBM number with pulsating synth bass sequences, fragmented bits of noise, and Rachel Haywire's punk-ish shouts. It's not an exemplary track, but it is one that would surely find its way on the dance floor. Alfa Matrix artists Neikka RPM and Diffuzion also appear with a balance of uninhibited aggression and dreamy sensuality, with Diffuzion storming in with a thunderous display of rasping vocals and catchy bass lines and Neikka RPM offering a more sultry range of erotic vocal whispers, erratic beats, and slimily smooth synths. Also notable is "Where Soldiers Fall" by Vicious Alliance, in which Natalia Kowalski's voice hovers despairingly above searing synth tones and grinding beats characteristic of the band's terror EBM formula, but for once allowing her voice to reign supreme over their usual inclusion of distorted rasps so typical of the style. Unwoman also adds a nice classical touch as harrowing vocals and morose cellos and strings slither amid subdued crackles of industrial beats and noise, while Hieros Gamos' approach is more gothic in tone with disrupted pianos and pipe organs and operatic wails mesh hauntingly with mechanized sonic backdrops.

Every compilation has its bad tracks, but the one absolute misfire on this compilation is the rendition of "Little Drummer Boy" by Protea, due primarily to the mostly off-key, always offbeat vocals; it's more than a little daunting, almost to the point of agonizing, but perhaps that's what the artist was going for. Who knows? Other tracks worth the listener's attention include Genocidio 1968's "Hure," which demonstrates the influence of gabber and hardcore techno on today's industrial dance music, the growling guitars and nihilistic vocal atmospheres of Compulsory Skin's "Twisted," and abstract constructions of mangled arpeggios and disjointed radio-esque vocals of Odio 84's "No Trust." While it can be argued that there is nothing truly groundbreaking from a production or musical standpoint on this compilation, Extreme Women in the Dark Future still stands as a fine collection of female artists out to show their superiority and erase the stigma of being little more than mere window-dressing. If nothing else, it is sure to send you to the dance floor as your ears hold on for dear life.

01. Protea - Little Drummer Boy
02. Compulsory Skin - Twisted
03. Aluminum Voyage - Filth
04. Genocidio 1968 - Hure
05. Anxiety Disorder - Emergency Sex
06. Neikka RPM - Umbrae Sub Noctem
07. Diffuzion - No Passive Isolation
08. Chiasm - Deny
09. Odio 84 - No Trust
10. Noizekatt - Scars
11. Ju!ie Destroy - Devist8or
12. Experiment Haywire - Mean Enough Hot Enough
13. No1r - Eau
14. Vicious Alliance - Where Soldiers Fall
15. Regenerator - Famished
16. Unwoman - Compliance (Machinekunt Remix)
17. Hieros Gamos - In the Shining Exile
18. Asinyane - Homocide

Extreme Women In The Dark Future

: mp3db