"Bodychoke was an experimental noise rock side-project of Power Electronics band Sutcliffe Jügend active between 1993 and 1999. The band released 4 albums, one of which was produced by Steve Albini. Their music expressed themes of hate and disgust, as well as some of the sexual perversion and death tackled by Sutcliffe Jügend."

"The band's style is hard to categorise, a combination of noise rock, post-rock, industrial music and even gothic rock elements. A typical Bodychoke song is driven along by a strong repetitive riff on the bass and drums, tensioned against layers of distorted guitar noise, with vocals ranging from bassy murmurs to deranged screaming. From 1996, 'cello featured as both a melodic and rhythmic element, and sometimes as a source of ambient sound-effects. The arrival of Manu Ros in 1998 brought a more complex, 'tribal' feel to the drumming."


  • Kevin Tomkins – vocals, guitar
  • Paul Taylor – vocals, guitar
  • Gary Kean - bass guitar
  • Mike Alexander - 'cello
  • Manu Ros - drums (1998-1999)
  • Jamie Hitchens - drums (1993-1998)
[Releted links]
1994 - Mindshaft
1996 - Five Prostitutes
1998 - Cold River Songs
2004 - Completion
2009 - Cold River Songs (remastered featuring bonus material)