Blind Idiot God

Blind Idiot God is an instrumental rock trio formed in 1982 in St. Louis,
Missouri by guitarist Andy Hawkins, bassist Gabriel Katz and drummer Ted Epstein.
The phrase "blind idiot god" comes from horror writer H. P. Lovecraft's description of the god Azathoth. They are currently based in New York City and have often collaborated with
musicians Bill Laswell and John Zorn.

Their self-titled debut album, Blind Idiot God, was issued by SST Records in 1987 and was well received critically. Brian Olewnick described it as "an extraordinary debut [...] the three musicians exhibited startling originality and impressive technique both on their instruments and in the depth and style of their compositions". With bassist Bill Laswell handling production duties, Undertow was released in 1988 and was followed by Cyclotron in 1992. Ted Epstein left the band in 1996 and the remaining members put Blind Idiot God on hiatus as they searched for his replacement.

In 2001, Blind Idiot God reunited after roughly a decade of inactivity, with Tim Wyskida (of Khanate) replacing Epstein. Gabriel Katz departed in 2012 and was replaced by New York veteran bassist Will Dahl, making Andy Hawkins the only original member still performing in the band. Blind Idiot God's new line-up entered the studio with plans on releasing their fourth album, Before Ever After, on Indivisible Music in early 2015.

[Releted links]

Blind Idiot God@wiki
Blind Idiot God@myspace
Blind Idiot God@facebook

BLIND IDIOT GOD live at Saint Vitus Bar
Blind Idiot God - Wide Open Spaces
Blind Idiot God - Paper Box 2015

Blind Idiot God@discogs