Cat Rapes Dog

Cat Rapes Dog [Special]

Cat Rapes Dog is a Swedish electropunk-, ebm- and heavy metal band, formed in 1984 (just one year after Skinny Puppy's debut ep and Alien Sex Fiend's first cassette, but they never got the attention those bands did).

Joel Rydström and Magnus Fransson started out in the mid 80s with some demo releases. Made their debut with the EP "Columna Vertebralis" in 1989 and became the first hard Swedish electronic act.

Annelie Bertilsson joined the band for their 12" "Fundamental" in 1990 and soon became a regular member of the group. The group reached a peak with their "Moosehair Underwear" which was mostly mixed and mastered by Jürgen Engler and Chris Lietz at Atom H (Die Krupps HQ). During the creation of the follow up album "Biodegradable" in 1995 the band went through some turmoil when their singer Joel decided to quit and their new singer Laszlo Hago was supposed to become their new regular singer. This didn't work out very well and thus he was sacked and the band went into hibernation for a few years. "Biodegradable" saw the arrival of guitarist Jonas Awertoft that has become more or less a regular member of the band since then. An EP called "Fuck Nature" was released with more unreleased tracks from the "Biodegradable"-era (thus still including some of the vocal work of Joel). In 1998 the band returned with a new regular singer John Wreibo and the album "The Secrets Of God". Gone where much of the distorted vocals but the guitars made their appearance well noted still. They soon followed up this album with the album "People As Prey" in 1999. The band continued touring to support these two last albums.

During the new millennium some demo songs have emerged and some concerts have been played. They are still set to make a new release.

[ Releted links]
[ Video]

Singles & EPs
  • Columna Vertebralis (1989)
  • Down & Out (1998)
  • American Dream 7" (1990)
  • Chuckahomo Bridge 12" (1990)
  • Fundamental 12" (1990)
  • Madman / True Love 7" (1990)
  • I Sometimes Wish I Was Famous (1991)
  • The Banzai Beats (1991)
  • Superluminal (1991)
  • Trojan Whores (1992)
  • Moosewear (1993)
  • Nej till EU (1994)
  • Sucking Dry (1994)
  • Motörhead Tribute (1995)
  • Motorman (1998)
  • Workers of The World (1998)
  • Miaow at the Moon (2003)
Listen song: